Home > paleo, primal > 11 Years

11 Years

I have been with my better half for eleven years, a little longer if you count our dating time. In all those years we never paid any mind to what we ate or did. Now that getting into my mid 30’s it feels I need to.

I smoked a pack a day for my entire marriage, I put those down 6 months back. I was never a fitness type, I did always try to be outside as much as possible, sadly getting back outside got me laid up. Getting injured changed that. 2 months of being damn near useless physically really took its toll on me. I got fat and so out of shape it was unreal.All that and my job type let it get out of hand really fast. So a lot of things in my life needed a bit of adjusting and I manned up and adjusted it.

The biggest thing to have the most change has been incorporating the paleo/primal way of eating. Sure there are days where I feel I need to eat a whole cake to get that sugar but I talk myself out of it and the cravings pass, much as knocking out the smokes did. I don’t use a scale everyday or know how to do body mass stuff or even really care to know, what I do know is without a doubt my energy is sky high and it seems that my waistline is smaller. The old “beer” gut is hanging on but is not so much a shed as a lean to. Right now I have just passed into a month and a half of paleo eating. I can tell that when I eat, less fills me up but I do get hungry more often. I can only imagine what is going on at six months.

I also got my bike fixed today. The weather is typical cold and rain so I can’t really get out just yet. I am ready to ride again, just not on roads. I am confident with that increase in activity the rest will speed up and go away. Hopefully I can get to my genetic goal. I think this is around 180 pounds, as I hit that weight in 8th grade back in 1989 and stayed there until about the time I became employed in the IT field. Prior to this period my jobs were physical and pretty mobile. At any rate 180 will be better for me and my back and I don’t think it’s unreasonable. The change in eating habits offers a slow healthy loss, which is better. It may not be possible but I shall shoot for it. 2010 is going to be a good year.

Categories: paleo, primal Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

