Home > blogging > New Name. #reverb10

New Name. #reverb10

New name.

Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why?

Tough one. So much starts with my name. In the real world I have many names. Some, thankfully, never get spoken. Others get called too often. Sometimes the tone of the caller sets up the reaction they get.

Honestly I don’t want a new name. It implies I failed at the turn I was on. It sets a string of lies loose, undoing my actions on this earth. That’s a foundation I don’t want to build off of. They say you can tell a lot about a man by his shoes. Same for a name.

The people and things around my name know that if called I’m there. If tasked I perform. If challenged I compete. If attacked I retaliate. If respected I return in kind. If in debt I repay. If defended I never forget.

Categories: blogging Tags:
  1. December 23, 2010 at 8:05 am

    I like my name, its inherited from my dad who is a good and honorable man. A legacy I’m proud of and uphold. But I’m not afraid of the name I write under, Ronin, it show’s what I’ve become, my own man. But I’m not tossing my given name in the trash, it’ll be on the book when its published.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

