Home > blogging, minimalism, minimalist > Turn The Light Out

Turn The Light Out

One big thing about going primal, to me, was cutting out excess and embracing a more minimal position in life. Making due. Getting by. Fewer nicer things. This has worked out well in many areas. It’s given me more energy and more good days. It led to me to a core group of people that I wish were really in my real life and not just an avatar on my phone or laptop. I’ve broken bread with some and it was amazing.

I’ve written about lifeboat builders and coconut washers before. This idea haunts me and when verbalized gets filled with passion when I tell others. To that end I want to strip out another layer of poison from my diet, my info diet. Social media is fun and time consuming, I love it and the views I get on all the different topics and people in the world. Sadly it has a downside, increased screen time and disrupted sleep, to name a few. It proves out the fact that a lot of people have a side they want you to see even if it is fabricated for an audience.

I am what I am if you know what I mean. WYSIWYG.

For the next 40 days no twitter. No book of face. They get too much of my time. They’ve intruded on the real world enough. I even had a guy call me on my phone to express concern for me only to shit on me the next day, virtually of course. What a bunch of fucking two faced weirdos out there. I do not allow that shit in my real life and I won’t allow it in the tubes either.  Those who really know me will understand and know how to get me. I’m no big loss anyways and it’s only 40 days. Should be plenty of time for the drama to blow over and let us rise from the ashes. We’ll see who is left and be better off for it. I stopped watching the big news channels last April and it was great move. Now the paleo/primal crowd is just as hate filled as Democrats and Republicans. Not my scene. I dig the n=1 folks who dare to have a brain.

I plan to blog and do email, that’s about it. Any tweets will be from those posts. I’m going to focus on me and my wife. I have a child growing in my wife and I love it with all my body and soul. Those things are more important than petty internet “friends” trying to farm hits. Sorry you couldn’t market me.

40 days, 40 nights. 80/20 and kettlebells.

  1. March 8, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Enjoy your InfoFast, another form of IF 🙂

    • March 8, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      Yup. Digital haters….

  2. March 8, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    You know what? I’ve been watching this “convo” you guys have had for a couple days, thinking to myself “I can’t give up fb/twitter because of blah,blah,blah”. That should have been my first clue that I needed to check out. After reading this post, I’ve realized I had my priorities all screwed up, and maybe that was the problem.
    If I remember right, the point of Lent is to give something up so you become a better person. I think this idea of no Twitter or Facebook is exactly that. It’s not always fun any more; it gives me stress, and I ended up making an idiot of myself and hurting the feelings of someone I have come to care about because of someone else that I don’t even know.
    I need to go back to focusing on the people I actually care about. Those I do either have my email or phone number and know how to get a hold of me. Even with this vacation I’m going on, I’m going to go old school on the updating people who need to know – they can call. I’ll blog, and of course I’ll keep up my blog’s forum (since there’s only 4 or 5 of us on there anyway, and it’s for the diet challenge only).
    I even told Rob, and he’s going to change my passwords to FB and Twitter so I can’t get on.
    This is a good idea. I’ll be back on there Monday, April 25th. Thanks for this post – it was what I was needing to make a real commitment.

    • March 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm

      Hell to the yeah. You got my number.

      • March 9, 2011 at 6:56 pm

        Yup, that I do. I might even send you a text, just for grins. 🙂

  3. CrzyDJM
    March 9, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Well-said man. We’ll see ya in 40 days.

  4. March 9, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Best of luck and see you in 40 days (hopefully).

    • March 9, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      I’ll be back. For sure.

  5. March 9, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Great post! I’m glad I decided to join Matt’s challenge. The Twitter free morning was awesome and stuff got done. Looking forward to many more days of that. I didn’t cut out Facebook as I don’t have desire to check it more than 1-2 times a day and those mostly are the people in my daily “real” life that I see in town and at church. However, message boards are cut, blogs I don’t read regularly are cut for now too. Looking forward to a much quieter Lent.

    As for the primal/non-primal, I’m a bit disassociated with it these days because I’m losing weight in an offbeat way that works for me. Still grain free, organic, and grassfed….just not gonna turn my diet into a religion.

    Congrats on your upcoming baby! Kids are the best.

    • March 9, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      Exactly, Barb, and thanks!

  6. shannon
    March 16, 2011 at 12:03 am

    congrats on the new addition ❤ wonderful post!

  1. March 9, 2011 at 6:55 pm
  2. March 28, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Leave a Reply

