Home > Uncategorized > Deerloaf.

Deerloaf.

I’ve been waiting to get my hands dirty on this. I took some of my ground venison and hooked up a meatloaf today. I keep these simple as I prefer to have the others eating it add whatever spices they prefer to it. Another big thing for me at least, is to have the transfer of energy from this wild animal to my unborn child. This moves me on deep level. Reconnecting ourselves with the environment in these times is a big deal for me. My neighbor has no idea how much it means to me.

 

I thawed out 3-4 pounds of ground whitetail.

 

Placed it in a steel bowl, note how lean it is.

 

I added a couple of free range eggs.

I threw in some cayenne pepper.

Followed by some diced onions.

Mix it all together with your bare hands and form it into a loaf, or pile. Place in a foil lined dish like so.

Drop it in a preheated oven, at 375 degrees, for about an hour and twenty minutes. I like to cook deer at a lower heat as it is really easy to dry out. It should come out looking like this.

Many people top their loaves with ketchup I keep it on the side usually and for this one I used Hunt’s All Natural Tomato Sauce. They are generally the best on the shelf in the stores. Hopefully chowstalker.com will permit it 🙂

The final product is really tasty and I’m sure as with most meatloaf it gets better the next day. I actually got chills down my spine while eating this. Thank you brother Whitetail. I’ve done this same treatment using grass fed beef and it is equally awesome. Enjoy.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 12, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Wonderful, now I’m starving and drooling.

    • March 12, 2011 at 10:09 pm

      Mission accomplished.

  2. March 12, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    You have a sexy hand.

    • March 12, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      Thanks, you should see the other one.

  3. March 12, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    Damnit Scotty! I want to eat at your house

    • March 12, 2011 at 10:12 pm

      Come on over. Deerloaf is perfectly followed by Bourbon.

  4. Jos
    March 14, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Interesting! I’ve never tried deer meat before..where did you buy it?

    • March 14, 2011 at 10:03 am

      You can’t technically buy it. My neighbor is a hunter and she kindly bagged one for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

