Home > blogging, minimalism, minimalist > Idiocracy is real and it’s going to kill me. #projectradiosilence

Idiocracy is real and it’s going to kill me. #projectradiosilence

I’ve been tempted. I’ve resisted the urge to just open the social networks and check in.
A small victory.
I imagine all the posts about being stuck in traffic or a grocery line and all the holier than thous professing just how much better they are than you. I imagine the wisecracks at Japan and about how they should of not built near water. I imagine there are a few true posters lamenting about being away from home or missing their families or being proud of their new puppy or their baby. I imagine my own same mundane smart assery, then I quit imagining. I come to my senses and turn away from the beast and let it continue to eat the masses. I’m not wanting to be digested so easily anymore. It seems the beast we’ve made thrives on poisonous things.

I just keep my mouth shut.

I’m burning down to ash and plan to smolder. When the fire comes back it will be anew. So far so good, one less tiny screen commanding me to jump into the fray.

I think we as a people have been dumbed down and numbed down. We think there’s an app for that, an app for everything. Somebody or something else will do it for me. Try this at the next big box store, pay in cash and watch the cashier struggle to count back change. Go through a drive through and order off the grid, take a number 1 and make it a number 2, a cheeseburger with no cheese, if you dare. Watch for the smoke from the attendant window as their gears grind to a nub. Too much stuff doing the thinking for us. All you have to do is look good and stay tuned in.

I’ve thought in the past and agreed with the premise that the new privacy is that you have none, under that model you need a light on the grid in order to stay off the grid. When that light goes out you stick out like an un-hammered nail. We know what happens to those. That said, seeing as how you “need” a light on, it’s wise to make yours burn in a different way. In the land of the blind as it were. In the land of the blind my neighbors won’t wave at me but will comment on a link I post. In the land of the blind your public facing side gets more cred than your soul. In the land of the blind you owe a like minded response or risk being judged accordingly. In the land of the blind your contribution to the link economy is worth more than a physical helping hand outstretched.

A hierarchy
Spread out on the nightstand
The spirit of team
Salvation is another chance
A sore loser
Yelling with my mouth shut

A cracking portrait
The fondling of trophies
The null of losing
Can you afford that luxury?
A sore winner
But I’ll just keep my mouth shut

It shouldn’t bother me
But it does

The small victories
The cankers and medallions
<<>>
They keep me thinking
That someday
I might beat you
But I’ll just keep my mouth shut

It shouldn’t bother me
But it does

IF I SPEAK AT ONE CONSTANT VOLUME AT ONE CONSTANT PITCH AT ONE CONSTANT RHYTHM
RIGHT INTO YOUR EAR, YOU STILL WONT HEAR
You still won’t hear
You still won’t hear
You still won’t hear
You still won’t hear
You still won’t hear
You still won’t hear

  1. CrzyDJM
    March 15, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Well-said, dude. My FBing has really slowed down in the last year, which is ironic since I’ve met some of the coolest peeps in that time. Go figure 🙂

    • March 15, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      My “friend” count is so overblown. The same 20 or so regularly interact. The bulk are people from high school who didn’t hang with me then and don’t interact now. I smell a cull. I dig the paleos and my real friends on there but I got a lot of dead weight. I have some friends on there that never post anything or even let on that they read what I post. Not to mention the co workers who would never speak to you in public but damn sure read every little thing you post and repeat as law. Virtual judgement. One thing I don’t need.

  2. Jane
    March 15, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    New catch phrase virtual judgement. So wrong. Love the words.

  3. CrzyDJM
    March 16, 2011 at 5:50 am

    Ha!

  4. March 16, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Culling sounds like a great idea.

    I can honestly say I don’t miss Twitter. I can pretty much guarantee that I’m not missed either except by 2-3 people who have my personal email. I haven’t even cared about blogging much lately (taking this week off completely). Seems like the more weight I lose and my confidence returns, the more I want to be out among people that I can see face to face.

    There is a feral quality to so many hiding behind an online persona. People pull far less crap “in real life.” More accountability and greater authenticity is how I want to proceed in life. Social media still has its place…I just need to keep it minimal and in perspective.

    • March 16, 2011 at 8:32 am

      I can only imagine the level of petty some of these personas perpetrate in real life. I guess I’m too honest and wear it on my sleeve. I think I’d actually feel guilty deleting a “friend.” Still, my plan to cull should be focused on shaping my feed to be a good thing that is good for me instead of constantly being a thing I feel I need to contribute to or be attacked by. Even in my day job I feel I have to justify everything thing I do and defend my opinion, for no good reason other than it being my turn to be looked at so the real problem can be skipped for another day.

  5. March 16, 2011 at 5:35 pm
  6. April
    March 26, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I did a mass FB cull a year ago and deleted everyone I hadn’t spoken to within the past two years after walking past an old schoolmate in the street and both of us ignoring each other. My friend count went from 300 to 70. It felt so good that a month later I deactivated my account and I not once regretted it (if you do, you can re-activate it and it’s still as you left it). They say the more friends you have online, the less in real life. They also say people spend more time on their own pages than anyone else’s. My two cents…

    • March 26, 2011 at 9:08 pm

      The only reason I don’t shut it off is that some people I know in real life won’t use email to keep us updated on things. I have a lot of fun on there too. I’ve gotten to know some really great people. I needed the break because some people take it too seriously. Regarding the paleo stuff, there are some real fake mofos out there preaching one thing and really being something else. It never really bothered me until the camel got its nose under the tent.

      Thanks for reading, April.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

