Home > blogging, paleo, primal, rant > Take a seat by the fire.

Take a seat by the fire.

It’s nothing new and it’s not going anywhere. I thought this thread over at paleohacks was interesting. It shows the types of attitudes within the paleo/primal community. It shows I’m not alone. Here are a couple of excerpts:

I dislike the vegan/vegetarian bashing. There is no doubt vegans are equally, if not more, critical of meat eaters. But as cliched as it might be, two wrongs don’t make a right. I am confident in Paleo being the right approach to health and don’t have the need to feel good about it by being critical of the “heretics”. However, it seems like a lot of Paleo blogs / posts here feel the need to point out the nonsense of vegetarianism, incurring further criticism from the veggie-folks. Feels like we live in Gaza with this kind of b.s.

I’ve seen some misogyny in blogs, but most of it I’ve encountered has been in IRL meetups, mostly from men in the “pickup” community.

I hate the caveman image

btw- bashing vegetarians is a-okay in my book. They get an easy pass for being aholes and need to be knopcked off the pedestal as often as possibel but please know ytour facts before you attack.

All these Paleo-people talking about the low-carb,fruits,IF,CF,The Paleo-lifestyle etc. made my anxiety even worse….I’m now scared of amounts of fat,fruits and certain veggies (like beets,carrots,pumpkin…let alone sweet potatoe!),coconut milk and dairy (though I love sheep’s and goat cheese,which are high in fat too,which scares me). I’m caught in such a horrible thinking pattern

Give it a read, feel free to discuss here or there. My point of view is that it is ok for you try to do better, some blogs/experts will disagree. Once what you eat becomes a religion or weapon to low blow another person, you probably need to move on.

  1. March 19, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    It’s posts like that that make me happy to have found you guys (Matt, you, and the majority of the folks that have frequented the Grok Elders fb group).

    My initial Primal challenge in September of last year involved me spending some time on the MDA forums, and seeing quite a bit of paleo/primal zealotry. Hanging over on the GE group really let me see that there are other folks figuring out this style of eating and living as they go, like me 🙂

  2. Barb
    March 20, 2011 at 6:44 am

    Amen!

  3. March 20, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    “Once what you eat becomes a religion or weapon to low blow another person, you probably need to move on.” AMEN! (see what i did there?)
    Somebody quoted this and I clicked on the link, no idea it was you, but I should have figured.
    Currently reading a diet book by John Keifer. This quote jumped out at me “This diet is a tool, not a lifestyle”

    All these things we do to improve the quality of our lives- whether it’s eating a certain way, training according to a certain methodology, or even framing our thoughts and behaviors in an ostensibly healthier pattern- hold the potential to become the locus of our attention.

    I prefer instead to think in terms of “things I do in order to achieve results I desire” as opposed to a “path” “way” or “dao.” It’s not that insights that might be termed “spiritual” never arise from the use of these techniques, but to invest them with holy qualities that they do not possess is to miss much of the ACTUAL value they hold.

    But that’s just my opinion.

    Anyway, great post as always.

    @mkjohnson1

    • March 20, 2011 at 6:18 pm

      What other places is this being discussed? I appreciate you reading and I know we’re on the same page.

  4. March 24, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    I’m with you on this. The vegan bashing just annoys me to no end.

    • March 24, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      Yeah. Beyond vegan vashing is the in fighting. You’re not paleo or primal enough.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

