Home > blogging, minimalism, minimalist, rant > Said, you don’t like the way I’m living? #projectradiosilence

Said, you don’t like the way I’m living? #projectradiosilence

I may not get it. I may need help or not. I’m not sure at times. I love hitting shuffle on the mp3 player and having a sermon delivered. Nothing like that kinship with music that has heart.

I find it hard to see the heart in a lot of music today. I’ve been seeking. I find it hard to see the heart in a lot of things, I’ve been seeking. That seeking has led to me some dark places and some greener pastures. Today shuffle brought a track that sums up tons in the way I see and feel about things. I’m glad my late night teenage outings allowed my DNA to be injected with such great music. I’m saddened I can’t find anymore because it’s become so buried. I’m not sure if it was the drugs or if we as a society in those times were just doing it right, but something or someone came down and blessed so many with the method to raise the hairs on my neck and I’m sure the necks of others. Maybe because we were less connected? Maybe we had to think and feel for ourselves with the real warm body of a friend? Maybe we were all on the same shit?

Something about getting away from the city lights and heading out into the dark. The stars get big and the pulls on a bottle get bigger. Bigger still the expanse of the mind and the elation of its growth and ability to see there is another way or to see the good in your path and continue on it. Under those big stars you’d get smaller. Never so small as to not know your place but small enough to feel the planet move. Those long summer nights lit by a small fire lent themselves to time travel of sorts, we’d watch the moon move across the sky.

“Teenage angst has paid off well, now I’m bored and old.”

 

That meant a lot back then. It was like we turned the corner and could stand on our own. We could stand for and against what we wanted and it would matter. The loud talkers would become less than the smoke rising up from our fire. Their message muted like our stoned out eyes. The volume of the car stereo increased and so did our commune. We were all on the same page. I feel today that my page is home to just me. Maybe it’s supposed to be that way? Maybe it’s part of that corner turning? I wonder.

I leave you with an excerpt of the lyrics from the track that spun this up. Give it a listen.

What do you think they would say
If I stood up and I walked away
Nobody here really understands me
And so I’ll wave goodbye I’m fine
And I’m fine

 

  1. April 30, 2013 at 10:41 am

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else
    encountering problems with your blog. It looks like
    some of the text in your content are running off the screen.

    Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening
    to them as well? This could be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Cheers

    • April 30, 2013 at 10:49 am

      Working fine for me in Chrome.

  2. February 11, 2014 at 10:32 pm

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.

    You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting
    videos to your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

