Home > Before/After, minimalism, minimalist, paleo, primal, rant > Halfway. #projectradiosilence

Halfway. #projectradiosilence

I’ve reached the middle of my little social media blackout. I’ve been fasting the old info diet. Let me tell you that after being off the smack you change. I never noticed it when people in the real world talk about “your posts” or “did you see what so and so posted?”

I answered “No. I did not see the post. I haven’t looked at FB for x days.”

They retort, “what the fuck is wrong with you?” I say give it a listen and see how many times you hear it.

I remember fondly checking my cell and laughing at a stray tweet and then being asked “what’s so funny?” I have no answer for that, you had to be there. Now I see at the restaurant the other Zoo Humans sitting 3 feet away from each other and never once look up. Fingers sliding on the glass in some motion resembling a martial art. I DO NOT miss that.

I remember being caught up in some virtual drama that was about as serious as watching grass grow. Yet needing to refresh so I didn’t miss the next big salvo in the pissing match. I DO NOT miss that.

You also tune into people overfishing all the media for that next big status update or that line that is tweet worthy-guilty. On one hand I miss it, the other I’m sad. Ducking out of hyperspace left a void. It’s been filled with more tangible offerings. Cooking for the wife is the one.

There’s something to the amount of screen time you get being a reason you can’t sleep for shit, either. I’ve had some 12 hour naps in the last 20 days, thanks to not giving  a damn that you hate your job. Thanks also to not caring that you have become so miserable you have no outlet but to make everybody else miserable. I DO NOT miss that shit.

 

Hopefully the next 20 days will be similar. So far they’ve been peaceful. It’s been good to not have the burden.

Will I jack back into the matrix? Yes. I got my prescription for red pills re-filled.

  1. March 28, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Word 🙂

  2. March 29, 2011 at 7:41 am

    See you when you get back 😉

  3. March 29, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Yup. This has been my experience too, for the most part. I don’t even know what kind of drama I’ve been missing, and it’s nice….
    Oh, and kudos on the cooking. That’s major brownie points. 🙂

  4. March 29, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Waiting tables, I used to notice the couples that weren’t talking to each other. Just looking past one another…This was in the dark ages pre-internet. Some people just won’t engage life and look for any excuse to remain disengaged. Glad you are fully enjoying the suchness.

  5. stoffainkorea
    March 29, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Waiting tables, I used to notice the couples that weren’t talking to each other. Just looking past one another…This was in the dark ages pre-internet. Some people just won’t engage and look for any excuse to disengage. Glad you are fully enjoying the suchness.

    • March 29, 2011 at 5:14 pm

      It really is like the matrix. A construct.

  6. March 29, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I was thinking about it earlier, and it’s weird to realize it’s been so many days. It hasn’t seemed like that long…. it’s nice to know what real life is like again.
    Now, I’m about to go use some of my new free time to crochet my next project – this time I really am going to finish this stupid blanket! (I know, nobody expects me to be a crafts person, but I love it!) 😀

  7. April 5, 2011 at 10:25 am

    I’m an old friend of your wife’s. I say old because I’m much older than she is. We went to church together at CBC and I have fond memories of her and her sweet mother.
    All that to say this, I enjoy your blog and I appreciate your dedication to staying out of the media circus. I’ve tried something similar and failed, but you give me encouragement to try again. We’re a military family and I love that fb allows us to connect with friends that we’ve since moved away from, but Oh My Freaking Goodness, do I need to know what you had for breakfast or how much your shoes cost? It’s really getting to the point of more frustration for me than not.

    So, Kudos to you. AND I will admit that I’m looking forward to some precious pictures of a new person that will grace your household in the near future. Blessings to you and Mrs. RSG. (She’s a fabulous gal)

    • April 5, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      Thanks for that! It’s been great to get away from the drama on there.

  8. April 12, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    This is a intriguing post. I’ll definitely be checking back to this blog more often.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

